Walden Bello awarded 2008 Public Scholar Award

Feb 02

Filipino academic and activist Walden Bello has been named the Outstanding Public Scholar of 2008 by the International Political Economy section of the International Studies Association (ISA).  He will receive the award at the group’s annual convention to be held in San Francisco, California from March 26-29, 2008. Special events honoring Bello include a panel on his work on Thursday March 27, 2008 during the annual meeting. On Friday evening, March 28, Bello will join other scholar activists in speaking at a public event at City Lights Bookstore, 261 Columbus Ave, in San Francisco, co-sponsored by Routledge, Taylor & Francis Press. In announcing the award, the committee chair Dr. Barry Gills noted, “Walden Bello has been chosen for this award due to his lifetime contribution to scholarship and activism on the international political economy of development, and his work for global justice. He has consistently demonstrated the highest standards of scholarship, leadership and dedication, and is therefore an example of 'Outstanding Public Scholarship'.” The Belgian newspaper Le Soir has called Bello "the most respected anti-globalization thinker in Asia." Canadian author Naomi Klein has described him as the "world's leading no-nonsense revolutionary." Chalmers Johnson has hailed him as the "world's best guide to American exploitation of the globe's poor and defenseless." For over 30 years, Bello has been in the forefront of struggles for human rights, social justice, peace, and the environment.  In the last five years alone, he has served as a key leader of the global movement against the war in Iraq, played a central role in the effort to roll back the World Trade Organization, led a peace mission to Lebanon during the Israeli invasion in the summer of 2006, and worked to bring a justice and equity dimension to discussions of climate change.  His trademark as an activist has been his effort to connect issues and movements.  As he told Interpress Service during the international conference on climate change in Bali in December 2007, “We are here because of the broadening character of the climate change crisis and the solutions being proposed at the Bali meeting.  It is no more about techno-fixes. It has become a global emergency for which issues such as trade, justice, equity...

Read More

National Tally Sheet – June 9, 2007

Jun 16

National Tally SheetPARTYLIST CANVASS REPORT No. 25 (Ranked)As of June 9, 2007 – 6:00 PM  .PDF version   POLITICAL PARTY/COALITIONS/ ACRONYM GRAND PERCENTAGE SECTORAL ORGANIZATIONS TOTAL  (%) REGISTERED VOTERS  (incomplete) ===> 39,443,897 OF VOTERS WHO ACTUALLY VOTED (incomplete) ===> 27,449,217 TOTAL DATE ENCODED ===> 9-Jun VOTES TIME ENCODED ===> 6:00 PM GARNERED 1 Buhay Hayaan Yumabong BUHAY 1,111,035 8.10 2 Bayan Muna BAYAN MUNA 903,600 6.59 3 Citizens Battle Against Corruption  CIBAC 720,153 5.25 4 Gabriela Women's Party***       GABRIELA 566,571 4.13 5 Association of Philippine Electric Cooperatives APEC 479,608 3.50 6 Advocacy for Teacher Empowerment Through Action, Cooperation and  Harmony Towards Educational  Reforms , Inc.   A TEACHER 446,929 3.26 7 Akbayan! Citizen'z Action Party AKBAYAN 420,910 3.07 8 Luzon Farmers Party BUTIL 403,209 2.94 9 Alagad ALAGAD 402,918 2.94 10 Bagong Alyansang Tagapagtaguyod ng Adhikaing Sambayanan BATAS 360,277 2.63 11 Cooperative-Natco Network Party COOP-NATCCO 341,971 2.49 12 Anak Pawis** ANAKPAWIS 340,392 2.48 13 Abono ABONO 333,603 2.43 14 Agricultural Sector Alliance of the Philippines, Inc. AGAP 319,311 2.33 15 Alliance of Rural Concerns ARC 295,499 2.15 16 An Waray AN WARAY 270,791 1.97 17 Filipinos for Peace,Justice and Progress Movement ****         FPJPM 258,773 1.89 18 Anak Mindanao AMIN 252,250 1.84 19 Arts Business and Science Professional ABS 213,927 1.56 20 Kabataan KABATAAN 211,074 1.54 21 Alyansang Bayanihan Ng Magsasaka, Manggagawang Bukid at Mangingisda-Adhikain at Kilusan ng Ordinarying Tao ABA-AKO 205,344 1.50 22 Coalition of Associations of Senior Citizens in the Philippines,Inc. SENIOR CITIZENS 198,948 1.45 23 Kapatiran ng mga Na Kulong na Walang Sala KAKUSA 190,368 1.39 24 Veterans Freedom Party  VFP 183,779 1.34 25 United Movement Against Drug UNI-MAD 182,354 1.33 26 Alliance for Nationalism and  Democracy  ANAD 169,525 1.24 27 Barangay Association for Nationmal Advancement of  Transparency BANAT 167,222 1.22 28 ABAKADA GURO formerly Advocates and Adherents of Social Justice for School Teachers and Allied Workers ABAKADA 161,141 1.17 29 The True Marcos Loyalist (for God,Country and People) Association of the Philippines, Inc. BANTAY 160,568 1.17 30 1-United Transport Coalition 1-UTAK 154,589 1.13 31 COCOFED-Philippine Coconut Producers Federation,Inc. COCOFED 145,176 1.06 32 Alyansa ng mga Grupong Haligi ng Aggam at Teknolohiya Para sa Mamamayan,Inc. AGHAM 141,773 1.03 33 You against Corruption and Poverty YACAP 130,844 0.95 34 Trade...

Read More

Comelec bares names of party-list nominees

May 08

Each group has more than four nominees but there are also some groups that have more than 10 nominees. There are about 500 nominees in the party-list. But Comelec’s refusal was no matched for Akbayan party list Loretta Ann Rosales who stormed the poll body’s office and demanded for the list to be released. Citing the recent decision of the Supreme Court, Rosales went to the Comelec and demanded that the poll body divulge the names of the nominees. Rosales said they will be reviewing the list of nominees to determine which parties only serve as front of the administration. Earlier, the group had identified 12 parties whose nominees are closely associated with President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo. Among the party-list groups believed to be frontline organizations of Malacañang are Biyaheng Pinoy; Babae Ka; Kasangga, which has alleged links to Malacañang’s Office of External Affairs; Akbay Pinoy, Aksyon Sambayanan, allegedly a project of National Security Adviser Norberto Gonzales; Agbiag! (Agbiag! Timpuyog Ilocano Inc.), whose secretary general is Marcelo Fariñas II, former assistant secretary in the Palace’s Office of External Affairs; Ahon Pinoy, headed by Dante Ang II, the son Commission on Filipino Overseas chairman Dante Ang; and Aangat Tayo, headed by Executive Teddie Elson Rivera of the Philippine International Trading Corp. (PITC). Other key personalities nominated in the party list include Felix Brawner Jr., brother of Comelec Commissioner Romeo Brawner, of the Kasosyo Producer-Exchange Association Inc, or Akong Ako Kasosyo Party (AA-Kasosyo Party). AA-Kasosyo already filed a manifestation last April 11 withdrawing Brawner’s nomination but the Law Department has not acted on this. The brother of chairman Benjamin Abalos, Arsenio and Mandaluyong Vice-Mayor Jesus Cruz of the Biyaheng Pinoy; former Environment Secretary Leonardo Montemayor of Aba-Ako; retired police general Lucas Managuelod of Ang Bagong Bayan na Magtataguyod ng Demokratikong Edeolohiya at Layunin (Bandila); Sigaw convenor and Lakas lawyer Raul Lambino; retired military general Jovito Palparan Jr.; Bernardo Ople, brother of the late Foreign Affairs Secretary Blas Ople and Ernesto Herrera III, son of former Sen. Ernesto Herrera, all of Ahon Pinoy. But under Sec.8 of Republic Act 7941 or the Party List system Act, (Nominations of Party-List Representatives) states that “each registered party, organization or coalition shall submit to the...

Read More